CMM 2011 - Computer Methods in Mechanics

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size


E-mail Print PDF

It is the tradition of CMM to honor the best paper presented by a young participant. The Scientific Committee decided that starting with CMM 2011this award will be associated with the name of Professor Jan Szmelter, who pioneered the Finite Element Method in Poland. The winners of the Jan Szmelter Award will be announced on 12 May 2011 during the closing ceremony.

The Scientific Committee elected the following Polish members of the J. Szmelter Award Jury:

1. Prof. Romuald J. Będziński, Wrocław University of Technology

2. Prof. Tadeusz Burczyński, Silesian University of Technology

3. Prof. Andrzej Garstecki, Poznań University of Technology

4. Prof. Janusz Orkisz, Cracow University of Technology

5. Prof. Jerzy Pamin, Cracow University of Technology

The foreign members of the Jury will be appointed after the conference is opened.

The rules of the competition for the J. Szmelter Award granted for the best research paper
presented by a young author during the 19th International Conference
on Computer Methods in Mechanics (CMM 2011).

1. Any participant of the Conference on Computer Methods in Mechanics 2011 is eligible for the J. Szmelter Award
if he/she fulfils the following requirements:

  •  is up to the age of 30;
  •  is an author or a co-author of a paper presented during the conference;
  •  has presented the paper by himself/ herself and has been active in a discussion on the presented paper.

2. The criteria of selecting the best paper:

  •  the originality of problem formulation and of the theoretical/numerical techniques used will be of primary importance;
  •  the way of presentation and the author's participation in discussion will be taken into account during evaluation.

3. The Scientific Committee appoints the Jury of the competition. Decisions of the Jury are made by the simple majority of votes. Voting on procedural matters is public. Voting on the best paper(s) is secret.

4. The papers shall be nominated by the members of the Scientific Committee as well as by the members of the International Advisory Board. These papers cannot be co-authored by the members of Jury.

5. The Jury may award two papers an equivalent prize or may not award any paper at all.

6. The decisions of the Jury will be announced at the closing ceremony of the conference.